NFL Honors Recap

By DJ Harding –

The 12th Annual NFL Honors took place on the night of February 9th and was full of awards and great Moments as Damar Hamlin was in the building which was meant to a standing ovation as they honored the first responders that saved his life. This was his second appearance during Super Week as he won the Alan Page community award on Wednesday about a month later after his on field cardiac arrest. While on stage Hamlin said “ My entire life, I felt like God was using me to give others hope and now with a new set of circumstances, I can say he’s doing what he’s always done, I have a long journey ahead, a journey full of unknowns and a journey full of milestones, but it’s a lot easier to face your fears when you know your purpose.” The rest of the night was full of awards and the announcement of the 2023 Hall Of Fame class.

Justin Jefferson would bring home 2 awards first the play of the year with his one hand first down catch versus the Buffalo Bills. The other award was Offensive Player of the Year as Jefferson’s 128 catch 1,809 yard season would make him the only non-qb finalists for MVP and bring him home some hardware

The Cincinnati Bengals team would bring home celebration of the year for their Roller Coaster celebration in week 18. This was while Joe Burrow would win FedEx Air player of the  Year with 4,475 passing yards on the season along with 35 passing touchdowns.

Josh Jacobs would bring home the FedEx Ground Player of the Year and the Jim Brown Award for his 1,653 rushing yards and 12 rushing touchdowns.

For some other awards presented that night Calias Campbell the Ravens Defensive End would bring home the Art Rooney Sportsmanship award. Dameon Pierce the Texans rookie running back would win Angry Run of the year. Ron Rivera would also gain some hardware as the Washington Commanders coach would win the Salute to Service Award.

Brian Daboll would win Coach of the Year in what was an amazing turnaround for Giants fans as they went from 4-13 to a Divisional Round berth.

Seahawks fans have 2 awards to celebrate as Larry Bevans would win fan of the year. The other award Comeback Player of the Year with Seahawks Quarterback Geno Smith having a career resurrection going from backup to a Pro Bowler this season.

For the Rookie Category it would be a sweep by the New York Jets with Garret Wilson winning Offensive Rookie of the Year while Sauce Gardner would bring home Defensive Rookie of the Year. This is the first time this hasn’t happened with one team having both Offensive and Defensive Rookie of the year since the Saints did it in 2017.

The 49ers fans would also have a lot to celebrate as Demeco Ryans would bring home Assistant Coach of the Year. George Kittle would win the Head and Shoulders never not working protection play of the year. Nick Bosa would be the highlight for the 49ers origination as he would bring home 2 awards. The Deacon Jones Sack Leader award with 18.5 sacks on the season which would lead him to winning Defensive Player of the Year.

Tonight was also the announcement of the 2023 Hall of Fame Class. The new class would include 

Ronde Barber:Cornerback/Safety 1997-2012 Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Darrell Revis: Cornerback 2007-2012 New York Jets 2013 Tampa Bay Buccaneers 2014 New England Patriots 2015-16 New York Jets 2017 Kansas City Chiefs

Joe Thomas: Offensive Tackle 2007-2017 Cleveland browns

Zach Thomas: Linebacker 1996-2007 Miami Dolphins 2008 Dallas Cowboys

Demarcus Ware: 2005-2013 Dallas Cowboys 2014-2016 Denver Broncos

Don Coryell (Coach/Contributor): Coach 1973-1977 St.Louis Cardinals 1978-1986 San Diego Chargers 

Chuck Howley (Senior): Linebacker 1958-1959 Chicago Bears 1961-1973 Dallas Cowboys

Joe Klecko (Senior): Defensive End/Defensive Tackle/ Nose Tackle 1977-1987 New York Jets 1988 Indianapolis Colts. 

Ken Riley (Senior): Cornerback 1969-1983 Cincinnati Bengals

The Night would end with Kansas City Chiefs Quarterback winning Most Valuable Player in a season where he threw 5,250 passing yards and 41 passing touchdowns. Mahomes received 48 first place votes and look to win Sunday breaking the 21st century MVP curse as the MVP in the Super Bowl hasn’t won since 1999 when Kurt Warner did it. NFL Season MVPs have been 0-8 since.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s